Brentano quartet

april 2021

available via dvd and weblink on-demand through June 30, 2021
This concert is generously sponsored in part by Russell and Kathy Ayres


Franz Josef Haydn

String Quartet in F minor Op. 20, No. 5 (1772)

Dmitri Shostakovich

String Quartet No. 11 in F minor, Op. 122 (1966) 

Matthew Aucoin

“Soft Power” (2018) 

Johannes Brahms

String Quartet in A minor, Op. 51, No. 2 (1873)

This concert is being presented
in memory of Dr. Raymond Thornton

purchase this concert


Weblinks and DVDs will be sent end of April. Once released, weblinks will be available on-demand until June 30, 2021. Domestic US DVD shipping is included.


bundle and save 20%

choose 4 or more DVDs or weblinks from our digital season

“Magnificent…The Brentanos [are] the talk of the chamber music community.” Kansas City Star

Since its inception in 1992, the Brentano String Quartet has appeared throughout the world to popular and critical acclaim. “Passionate, uninhibited and spellbinding,” raves the London Independent; the New York Times extols its “luxuriously warm sound [and] yearning lyricism”; the Philadelphia Inquirer praises its “seemingly infallible instincts for finding the center of gravity in every phrase and musical gesture”; and the Times (London) opines, “the Brentanos are a magnificent string quartet…This was wonderful, selfless music-making.” Within a few years of its formation, the Quartet garnered the first Cleveland Quartet Award and the Naumburg Chamber Music Award; and in 1996 the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center invited them to be the inaugural members of Chamber Music Society Two, a program which was to become a coveted distinction for chamber groups and individuals. The Quartet had its first European tour in 1997, and was honored in the U.K. with the Royal Philharmonic Award for Most Outstanding Debut. That debut recital was at London’s Wigmore Hall, and the Quartet has continued its warm relationship with Wigmore, appearing there regularly and serving as the hall’s Quartet-in-residence in the 2000-01 season.

The Quartet has been privileged to collaborate with such artists as soprano Jessye Norman, mezzo-soprano Joyce DiDonato, pianist Richard Goode, and pianist Mitsuko Uchida. In 2015-2016, they will collaborate with pianist Jonathan Biss on a project centered around late works of great composers.

In the fall of 2014, the Quartet became the Resident String Quartet at the Yale School of Music, succeeding the Tokyo Quartet in that position. At Yale, they perform in concert each semester, and work closely with the students in chamber music contexts.

Pin It on Pinterest

    Your Cart
    Your cart is empty
      Apply Coupon
      Available Coupons
      karen Get $9.00 off
      Unavailable Coupons
      digital60 Get 10% off
      fb20 Get 20% off
      radio Get 10% off